Friday, 27 December 2013

Gists and pics from THE HEADIES

The 8th edition of The Headies Awards, tagged “Save The Best For Last” closed this year’s activities with the best awards show in 2013. The annual event, which celebrates urbane music and hip-hop culture in Africa held yesterday, Thursday, December 26, 2013 at the Oriental Hotel in Victoria Island, Lagos was hosted by sensational singer, Tiwa Savage and afro-pop artiste, Dr Sid. This year’s nominations proved to have the tightest competition so far with a selection of the hottest artistes in the Nigerian music scene battling for “The Headie”.
(more after the cut)

Olamide, emerged the biggest winner of the night with three awards for the Best Street-Hop Artiste, Best Rap Album and Album Of The Year categories.

“Sho Lee” hitmaker, Sean Tizzle was also named the Next Rated Artiste for 2013 and went home with a Hyundai Tucson SUV.

Davido and Phyno also bagged two awards each during the event. Davido was named Hip Hop World’s Revelation of the year and also won Best R&B/Pop Album. Phyno went away with the Best Rap Single and Best Collabo awards.

Legendary Fuji musician, King Wasiu Ayinde Marshal who closed the premium event with a five-star performance was honoured with the Hall of Fame award.

Other winners included 2Face for best pop single, Banky W for best R&B single, Iyanya for artiste of the year, Waje for Best Reggae/Dancehall single, Nikki Laoye for best vocal performance female, Praiz for best vocal performance male, Mode 9 for Lyricist on the roll, Black Magic for best alternative song, KCee for song of the year, Dee Tunes for producer of the year, Jude Okoye and Clarence Peters for Best Video and Harrysong for Most downloaded callertunes.

Presenters at the awards also included Mai Atafo, Stephanie Coker, Yvonne Ekwere, Koch Okoye, Darey Art Alade, Basketmouth, Kemi Adetiba, Chin Okeke, Seyi Law, Lynxxx, Osas Ighodalo, Mercy Omo London, Toolz, Kelechi Amadi Obi, Funmi Iyanda, IllBliss, Jumoke Awolade-James, Freeze, Tewa Onasanya, Chris Ihidero among others.

Top music acts, Iyanya, Waje, Olamide, Phyno, Praiz, Seyi Shay, Niyola, Zaina and Yemi Alade also thrilled guests to pulsating performances during the show.

Notable faces at the event include Majek Fashek, Funmi Iyanda, Mike Okri, Salawa Abeni, Teju and Tobi Oyelakin, KSB, OJB Jezrel, Kunle Bakare, Kunle Afolayan, Tee A, Victor Uwaifo and Funlola Awofiyebi.

Other guests include, Gbenro Ajibade, BOJ, Tunde Ednut, Sexy Steel, Shina Rambo, B-Red, Azeezat, JJC, Saeon, Victoria Kimani, Mo Eazy, Hauwa Makun among others.

Produced and presented to match some of the biggest award shows from around the world, The Headies annually celebrates deserving Nigerian music stars, giving honour to whom it is due, and encouraging many to step up their game in order to enter the prestigious Headies alumni.

No comments:

Post a Comment